ENGAGEMENT RING: What are the 4Cs when it comes to diamonds on an engagement ring?

Diamonds are graded by the 4 Cs which are:

  1. Carat:    or weight, determines the size of the diamond.
  2. Clarity: The fewer flaws, the greater the value. If you cannot see flaws with the naked eye, it’s called an eye-clean diamond.
  3. Colour: A clear diamond is the rarest and has the highest grade of D. A yellow diamond will have the lowest grade of Z.
  4. Cut:        The cut creates the sparkle and so impacts on the beauty of the diamond.

Another consideration is Shape: Not to be confused with ‘cut’ the shape identifies the overall appearance of the diamond, e.g. round, oval, teardrop etc. Round stones are the most common.


Friendly, helpful, FUN, professional Celebrant with a difference

You may also like...

1 Comment

  1. Of course my page has contact details. So easy to find

Leave a Reply